2022 New York City Marathon

Marcel Hug and Susannah Scaroni take the win at the 2022 NYC Marathon

Marcel Hug of Switzerland and Susannah Scaroni of the United States broke the course records to win the men’s and women’s wheelchair divisions

By NYRR Media

In the professional wheelchair division, Hug won his fifth career TCS New York City Marathon title, tying Tatyana McFadden and Kurt Fearnley for the most wheelchair division titles in event history. He took the tape in 1:25:26, smashing the previous course record of 1:29:22 set by Fearnley in 2006. The course-record bonus for the professional wheelchair division this year was raised to $50,000, making the wheelchair division bonus equal to the open division bonus.

Switzerland’s Marcel Hug (center) celebrates his fifth NYC Marathon win with USA Daniel Romanchuk (right) and Jetze Plat of the Netherlands. (NYRR Media Image).

“It was really incredible – a very fast time. I was surprised, too, about this very fast time,” Hug said.

Daniel Romanchuk of the United States was second in 1:27:38, followed by Jetze Plat of the Netherlands in third in 1:31:28.

In the women’s wheelchair division, American Susannah Scaroni snatched her first TCS New York City Marathon title, breaking the tape in 1:42:43 to break the previous course record of 1:43:04 set by Tatyana McFadden in 2015. It marked her first title in New York and second Abbott World Marathon Majors race victory following her Chicago Marathon victory last month. She became the first American in six years to win the women’s wheelchair division.

NYC Marathon winner Susannah Scaroni (center) celebrates her first marathon win with Manuela Schar (left) and Madison de Rozario. (NYRR Media Image).


Switzerland’s Manuela Schär finished second in 1:45:11, and last year’s champion, Madison de Rozario of Australia, was third in 1:45:24.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

You Might Also Like...

Click on any of the links below to read more articles from SPORTS ‘N SPOKES!

Skip to content