NWBT Champions

The teams that took home a victory fought hard over the weekend at the National Wheelchair Basketball Tournament in Louisville, Ky.


Online Exclusive posted Monday, April 3, 2017 – 9:21am

The Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks needed double overtime to claim their seventh National Wheelchair Basketball Association (NWBA) Adult Division I National Wheelchair Basketball Tournament (NWBT) in the last eight seasons with an 83-78 win Sunday over the New York Rollin’ Knicks at the Kentucky Exposition Center in Louisville, Ky.

Double overtime in the D-1 National Championship. 70-70. Dallas Wheelchair Mavs vs New York Rollin Knicks. (Photo courtesy of National Wheelchair Basketball Association)

The Mavs’ Bobbie Nickelberry scored four of his 20 points in the second overtime to help seal the win. Dallas’ Andreas Kraft scored a game-high 29 points, including 15 in the first half, and was named the NWBT Division I MVP. Dallas’ Jason Nelms , a 2012 Paralympic bronze medalist, added 14 points and Aaron Gouge, a 2016 Paralympic gold medalist, had 11 points.

David Anderson led the Knicks with 26 points, while David Eng added 20 and Steve Serio had 13.

The Mavs and Knicks were ranked No. 1 and No. 2 throughout the 2016-17 regular season, alternating positions several times, with the Mavs regaining the No. 1 slot as the season concluded and earning the top seed.

Congratulations to the Mary Free Bed Junior Pacers- 2017 NWBT Junior Varsity Champs! (Photo courtesy of National Wheelchair Basketball Association)


Junior Division Varsity National Championship

Mary Free Bed Junior Pacers 54, BlazeSports Junior Hawks 36

The Mary Free Bed Junior Pacers jumped out to an early lead en route to their first Junior Division Varsity national championship Sunday with four athletes scoring in double-digits. Tanner Gentry, the Varsity National Championship Game MVP, set the stage scoring 18 of his 25 in the first half. Matthew Talbot pushed the Pacers with 12 of his 15 points in the second half. Gabe DenBraber also added 12 points for the Pacers.

The Hawks witnessed four athletes contributing and being led by Samuel Armas with 14 points, while Eric Francis and Jordan Kozloski scored 8 points each.



Junior Division Prep National Championship

WASA Junior Bucks 29, LWSRA 14

The WASA Junior Bucks opened the NWBT’s Championship Sunday by defeating the LWSRA Rolling Hawks, 29-14, to win their first Prep national championship. Travis Beckler led the Bucks with 12 points and was named the NWBT Championship Game MVP. Lucas Oswald added eight points, and Raia Ottenheimer had six points for the Bucks.

Zach Gorecki paced the Hawks with six points, while Jivon Payton and Harmonee Ruetes scored four points each.



Division II National Championship

DFW Freewheelers 55, Cleveland Wheelchair Cavaliers 40

The DFW Freewheelers opened the game on a 6-0 run and never looked back to claim the first D-II national championship Sunday by defeating the Cleveland Wheelchair Cavaliers. The NWBA brought the Division II league back after an eight-year hiatus. Blake McMinn who scored 24 points in the win, while Enoch Ablorh had 13 points. Darlene Hunter, a 2016 U.S. Paralympic gold medalist Darlene Hunter, also scored four points. Ablorh was named the Division II MVP.

Will Waller, a 2012 U.S. Paralympic bronze medalist, led the Cavs with 17 points. Randall Zinn Jr. added 11.



Adult Division III National Championship

Oklahoma Rollin Trojans 67, LWSRA Hawks 58

Michael Thompkins lit up the boards Sunday for the Oklahoma Rollin Trojans scoring a single-game tournament high 54 points, as the Trojans came from behind to win their first Division III title over the LWSRA Hawks.

Paul Smith (24 points) and Jeff Yackley (12 points) reached double-figures for the Hawks. Zoe Voris and Thomas Duffy each added nine points.


Junior Division NIT Championship

Denver Junior Rolling Nuggets 45, Peoria Wildcats 17

On Saturday, the Denver Junior Rolling Nuggets closed out their season with a victory over the Peoria Wildcats to win the Junior National Invitational Tournament. Noah Hotchkiss led Denver with 27 points, while Jonathan McNamara added 10 points and Abigail Farrell had seven.


You must be logged in to post a comment.

You Might Also Like...

Click on any of the links below to read more articles from SPORTS ‘N SPOKES!

error: Content is protected !!
Skip to content