NYC Marathon Winners

Tatyana McFadden came in second place for her second year in a row, losing to Manuela Schar

Online Exclusive posted Monday, November 5, 2018 – 1:27pm

Manuela Schar finishes in first place in the women’s wheelchair division for the second consecutive year at the 2018 NYC Marathon. (Photo courtesy of NYC Marathon Facebook)

The New York City Marathon took place Sunday, November 4, where Manuela Schar defended her first-place title in the women’s wheelchair race. Last year, Schar beat four-time defending champion Tatyana McFadden by just three minutes. This year, Schar kept her title with a tight race, beating McFadden by only 21.67 seconds. Schar finished the race with a time of 1:50:27, right in front of McFadden who had a time of 1:50:27. Schar has had two other major marathon victories this year in Berlin and Chicago.





Daniel Romanchuk finishes in first place in the men’s wheelchair division at the 2018 NYC Marathon. (Photo courtesy of NYC Marathon Facebook)

The men’s wheelchair division had an even closer time between the top three athletes, each finishing within two seconds of each other. Daniel Romanchuk, the American winner, took the lead with a time of 1:36:21, second place winner, Marcel Hug of Switzerland had a time of 1:36:21, just one second behind Romanchuk. The third-place winner wasn’t far behind them, either. David Weir of Great Britain came in third, just one second behind Hug and two seconds behind Romanchuk, with a time of 1:36:23. Romanchuck is the first U.S. man ever to win in the NYC Marathon in its 18 years. He is also the youngest winner at the age of 20.


You must be logged in to post a comment.

You Might Also Like...

Click on any of the links below to read more articles from SPORTS ‘N SPOKES!

Skip to content